Vintage Star Banner

Remember the July 4th Décor Inspiration I posted earlier? Well, I decided to give this project a try…and here is my finished banner. It’s two-sided so I can hang it on a door frame between rooms if I want to.

3D Star Banner Front

3D Star Banner Front

3D Star Banner Back

3D Star Banner Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started with some leftover paper from the Tim Holtz Seasons Paper Pad and Some Cordenations Solid Cardstock. I used this 3D Star Template to cut out my star tips.

My Work Mat

First I distressed the center fold and edges of all the star tips with Walnut Stain Distress Ink.

Distressing the individual star tips

Distressing the individual star tips

Then I placed double stick tape along the tabs and attached all the printed star tips together and then all the solid star tips together.

Adhere the tips to form the star

Adhere the tips to form the star

Assembled stars - front and back

Assembled stars – front and back

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make a small loop from jute or ribbon and double knot at the end to use as the hanger. Slip it into the topmost tip before adhering the two sides together. I used the large Zots on the inside of the tips and at the interior points and carefully squeezed the front and back pieces together and at the corners to hold the pieces in place while I applied Glossy Accents along the seams to seal the two pieces together. It actually makes a great glue, is clear, and smooth.

Attach the front and back together

Attach the front and back together

Front & Back Ready to Seal

Front & Back Ready to Seal

 

 

 

 

 

Then using a paint brush, I applied a thin strip of Glossy Accents along the edges (one at a time) of the front of the star and sprinkled Walnut Stain Distress Glitter along the wet edge and tapped the excess free onto a sheet of printer paper that I used to funnel the remnants back into the glitter jar.

Glittered edges

Glittered edges

While I let that dry I trimmed a few pieces out of my paper scraps to use on the center rosette and made my ribbons. I cut three pieces of Tim Holtz Crinkle Ribbon and misted them and scrunched them. Then I dabbed them into Fired Brick, Faded Jeans, and Antique Linen with Walnut Stain Distress Ink that I smeared on my craft mat. Then I misted the ink on my mat and swiped the ribbons in their respective color pools and left out to dry.

Creating the Crinkle Ribbon

Creating the Crinkle Ribbon

I made two rosettes using 1 ½ inch strips scored every ¼ inch. A cool trick for keeping them together as you assemble them, is to make a circle the size you want and from two strips of cardstock about 1 1/2 inches wide and tape or staple it together and place the folded rosette strips inside the cardstock circle and push inward to make your rosette. Then you can use a low-temp hot glue gun to adhere a circle to the back center to keep it together as you add your embellishments to the front. Once you are done, use the hot glue to make a small circle to the back of the rosette and attach it to the front of your star. I then laid mine face down, level on the mat to make sure it didn’t dry lopsided.

Making a rosette using a cardstock circle

Making a rosette using a cardstock circle

Then repeat the process for the back rosette, using embellishments of your choice.

Rosette front detail

Rosette front detail

Rosette back detail

Rosette back detail

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used jute to make the banner and cut strips of cloth in three lengths and two different widths of each length and some jute ribbon. I tied these onto the jute varying the lengths and widths to give variety along the line and then threaded my star onto the center of the banner rope.

Banner Strips

Banner Strips

Tah dah! That’s it. And now I have a cute decoration to hang over my door as my guests arrive tomorrow for our annual Risk and Dominoes Marathon.

What fun things have you got planned for Independence Day? Cute decorations? Family games? Great BBQ food? I’d love to hear about it. And have a great day!

Leave a Reply

